A-Z Glossary of NDIS Acronyms & Definitions You Need to Know

Updated: Nov 1, 2021

When it comes to understanding the ins and outs of the NDIS it can sometimes feel a little overwhelming especially when there are so many terms and acronyms to understand. To make things easier, we've developed an A-Z Glossary of NDIS Acronyms and Definitions that you need to know.

ABC blocks stacked on top of each other


  • AT: Assistive Technology

  • FPDN: First Peoples Disability Network

  • ILO: Independent Living Options

  • LAC: Local Area Coordinator

  • NAT: National Access Team

  • NDIA: National Disability Insurance Agency

  • NDIS: National Disability Insurance Scheme

  • SIL: Supported Independent Living

  • SDA: Specialist Disability Accommodation

  • STA: Short-Term Accommodation (Respite)

  • SLES: School Leaver Employment Supports


Access/eligibility requirements: To become an NDIS participant, certain requirements, that

have been set out by the NDIA, need to be met. The requirements include: age, residence,

disability and early intervention.

Advocate: Someone (an individual or part of an organisation) who may act or speak on your

behalf if you have given them permission to do so. They can offer independent support to

those who feel they are not being heard or may not be able to articulate their wants and


Agency Managed (NDIA managed): One of the three choices for the financial management

of an NDIS plan (the other two are Plan Managed and Self-Managed). If a participant is

Agency Managed then the NDIA will pay your support providers and manage your finances

and paperwork on your behalf.

Assistive Technology: Any device or system that allows individuals to perform tasks they would otherwise be unable to do or increases the ease and safety with which tasks can be performed.

Carer: Someone who provides personal care, support and help to a person with disability

and is not contracted as a paid or voluntary worker, often a family member or guardian.

Capacity Building Supports: An NDIS funding category designed for activities that support

participants in learning new skills. These skills may include achieving some of the goals like

living independently, finding a job, or getting help with NDIS plan management.

Capital Supports: An NDIS funding category that provides funding for Assistive technology

and home or vehicle modifications. The NDIS is very specific in what this funding can be

used for and it must be used as it is allocated.

Choice and control: A participant has the right to make their own decisions about what is

important to them as well as the decision for who provides support and how that support is


Community engagement: Describes the ways people are involved in the wider community.

Community services: Activities and interests (not supplied by government groups), which

are available to everyone in the community e.g. social, study and sporting interests.

Complaints: If you’re unhappy with any part of the process, system, product or service

provided by the NDIA, you can make a complaint (the same goes for any service providers

you work with). It can be either written or verbal and can be provided by a participant,

provider, family member or carer.

Core Supports: An NDIS funding category that helps participants in their everyday life. This

area of an NDIS Plan has four budget categories within it, which can be flexible to

accommodate individual needs.

Developmental delay: When a child develops at a slower rate than other children of the

same age and doesn’t reach milestones at the expected times.

Early Childhood Partner: The NDIA partner contracted to implement the Early Childhood Early Intervention Approach. An Early Childhood Partner works with LAC's, children aged 0-6 who may have developmental delays or disability and their families during the planning process, they help to identify the child's needs and potential short-term interventions, refer the family to mainstream services and provide information about the NDIS.

Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI): The ECEI approach is for children aged 0-6

years who have an early childhood disability or developmental delay and are not receiving